Skip Links

2019 BIKEABILITY AWARDS PROGRAMME – nominations welcome!

The Bikeability Trust is delighted to announce the second annual national Bikeability Awards Programme.

Aims of the Awards Programme
The primary aim of the Awards Programme is to reward and promote the good work that the Bikeability industry and partners are doing. Secondary aims include collecting a series of ‘case studies’ that can be used both to showcase Bikeability to external audiences, but also help to share examples of best-practice for peer-to-peer learning within the industry.

How the Programme will be run
All nominations will be assessed against a set of criteria for each award category. Short-listed candidates and/or their nominator will be invited to attend the Awards Ceremony at the National Bikeability Conference to be held in Hereford on Thursday 16th May 2019 at which the winners will be announced and presented with their awards and prizes.

The nomination process
Please download and carefully read ALL of the following documents:

Nomination form
Guidance on how to apply & complete the nomination form, plus the assessment criteria
Summary – background information
Terms and Conditions

Whilst the nomination process is not onerous (and is purposely short), applicants are encouraged to be as creative and expressive as possible with different media forms for their submissions to help illustrate their submission.

Nominators for short-listed candidates might be asked to produce some short, simple video footage to help showcase their nominee’s achievements – for viewing at the Awards Programme.

The judging process
A panel of external judges selected for their range of skills and experience across different sectors of the Bikeability industry will judge the final short list.

1. Nominations accepted: January 25th – until noon Monday March 25th 2019
2. Nominations judged: March 26th until April 8th 2019
3. Short list announced: Friday April 12th 2019
4. Awards Ceremony: Thursday 16th May 2019

Award categories
A. Instructor of the Year
B. Bikeability Provider of the Year
C. Grant Recipient of the Year
D. School Employee / Governor of the Year
E. Trainee of the Year (Pete Rollings Award)

Any questions about the nomination submission process, or the Awards Programme 2019 in general please contact:

Many thanks to Halfords for supporting the Awards Programme.



Congratulations to all those won an award at the 2018 Bikeability Conference, hosted by TABS in Islington Assembly Halls, London.

The results for the 5 award categories were:

i. Instructor of the Year:
Runner up: Kelly Koya (Cycle Experience)
Winner: Rob PIatt (West Sussex County Council)

ii. Scheme of the Year:
Runner up: BikeRight!/Merseytravel
Winner: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea

iii. Local Authority /SGO Host School Partner of the Year:
Runner up: Northamptonshire County Council
Winner: Warrington Borough Council

iv. School/School Teacher/Governor of the Year:
Runner up: Simon Partridge (Ashton Gate School, Bristol)
Winnner: Lesley Byrne (Slated Row School, Milton Keynes)

v. Trainee of the Year (Pete Rollings Award):
Winner: Dannon Butler, Pinchbeck Primary School

More information about the winners and their achievements are available here.

More photos of award winners here


The Bikeability Trust would like to thank TABS for hosting the Awards and the panel of judges who gave their time voluntarily to assess all the nominations:
• Gary Batchelor, Coachwise (& EA Assessment Panel)
• Pat Mee, Coachwise (& EA Assessment Panel)
• Nick Chamberlin, British Cycling (& TABS Board)
• Louise Gray, Youth Sport Trust
• Nick Hardie, Modeshift STARS